Generic tunnelling of data

I am new to UAVCAN and i would like to use UAVCAN to tunnel data to I2C bus, SPI bus and UART.

I2C device <-> CAN node (I2C bridge) <-> CAN node (connected to a host PC)
SPI device <-> CAN node (SPI bridge) <-> CAN node (connected to a host PC)
UART device <-> CAN node (UART bridge) <-> CAN node (connected to a host PC)

Any advice on how to implement the respective CAN node with good interoperability (compliance to standards) would be much appreciated.

UAVCAN is an application-layer standard. While you can certainly use it for tunneling data, it is not exactly the kind of thing it was designed for. If using the raw CAN is for some reason undesirable, you can do the following: pick a subject-ID for your data (let’s say, 100 for I2C, 101 for SPI, 102 for UART, the numbers are chosen arbitrarily); either define your own types or use the standard uavcan.primitive.Unstructured. Make your I2C/SPI/UART node subscribe to these subjects and at the same time publsh the received data to them.

You can use PyUAVCAN to implement the logic on the host side (in Python) and libcanard to implement it on the device side (in C11/C99).

You will find practical examples in the documentation for PyUAVCAN and Libcanard.

The goal is to emulate a I2C, SPI or UART interface on the host. The idea is that this is useful in the development stage of a system by allowing to extend and test already known and supported sensors in the (UAV) system. As the sensor usage matures and proves itself to the system integrator, a node shall dedicate itself to that sensor by implementing the related messages.

From reading the docs, here is how I see this implementation.
The emulation driver on the host (master) can use uavcan.register API to configure the I2C, SPI or UART by modifying “registers” such a “baudrate”.
The available i2c devices or SPI chip selects can be seen with the uavcan.file API